top of page

Meet Sabelle Mebane: Fashion and Photography as an Influencer



Dallas-based creative Sabelle Mebane is a force to behold as a young fashion figure and photographer. She has worked with Google and Disney, and attended New York Fashion Week through her work on Instagram.


Sabelle brings a fresh voice to the platform, juxtaposing elegant photos in long gowns and dreamy photoshoots with candid glimpses into her everyday life. Her voice is clear in her bold and charismatic style, proving that youth is not a barrier to being able to share passion with the world.


Read below to discover Sabelle’s perspective on being an influencer and creating art.



PPT: Hi Sabelle! To start off, please tell us a bit about your background as a young creative.



SM: Hi, I’m Sabelle and I’m a 16 year old creative mainly using Instagram as my platform.

I started off sharing my self portrait photography and eventually became more fashion focused, using Instagram to highlight my styled outfits and working with fashion brands.

I also contribute writing to different publications, and I'm a painter in my free time.



PPT: What has been inspiring you lately?



SM: Seeing all of the protests around the world in response to George Floyd’s murder. Seeing people from all types of backgrounds standing in solidarity with black people and are willing to fight against injustice and brutality gives me so much hope for change. I’m so proud of Gen Z doing everything they can to educate themselves and challenge ignorant beliefs and white supremacy. Seeing everyone come together and use their voice to take down a system that has failed so many is truly inspiring.



PPT: Can you tell us about what photography and fashion mean to you?



SM: To me, it’s an art of self expression and a tool to paint myself the way I please.


PPT: How has Instagram influenced you as an artist?


SM: In the beginning, there was pressure to create content that was trendy and popular and I think the majority of creatives on social media have had to sacrifice the art that they want to create in exchange for likes and follows.

I do my best to not let those negative things that can come with being on a social platform affect my art. However, seeing and connecting with other creatives is one of the positives of being on a social platform and seeing other people’s fashion and photography definitely can provide me inspiration.



PPT: What have been some of the highlights of your journey so far?



SM: Definitely everything I've learned from the business standpoint of things. I’ve helped myself create many opportunities working with big brands such as Disney and Google, and I’ve coordinated my participation in New York Fashion Week, and different publications. I think everything I’ve learned in regards to business is the most beneficial thing I've taken from this journey.



PPT: Do you have any plans or goals for the future that you’d like to share?



SM: This year, I really wanted to slow things down with my content and I became a little more inactive and selective when it came to working with companies. The past couple of years were really busy for me and I felt like I was at a stable point where I could take a step back and focus on school and friends and family.


Right now, I'm just going with the flow.





Connect with Sabelle by following her on Instagram @sabellemebane.

All pictures are by Sabelle Mebane.

Comments


bottom of page