top of page

Interview: LUI$A


Photo by Andi Deçani


Under the name LUI$A, Luisa Boshnjaku creates an ageless sound with a clear voice. Having lived in both Queens, New York, and Prishtina, Kosovo, she blends their two atmospheres to craft diversity in her music. LUI$A is currently working on her EP, recording it in Dreamhouse Studios; in the process of creation, she is always experimenting with her sound and strives to bring something new to the world.


Read below to learn about her inspirations, cultural diversity, and musical evolution.



Hi LUI$A! To begin, what have you been up to while staying home in quarantine?


I’ve been working in the studio most of the time and learning music theory. I also discovered many new artists to listen to. Quarantine has really helped me cleanse my head and be more productive: I am currently planning my cover shoot.


What does creating music mean to you?


Music is a big part of my life and I really couldn’t live without it, it helps me express myself and puts me in a better place. I strive to help people unite and accept diversity through my music.


How do you combine the cultures of Prishtina and Manhattan in your music?


Prishtina and Manhattan vary from each other. Growing in Prishtina helped me understand that not all people are the same: they differ in mentalities, style, and taste. Prishtina and Manhattan are like the moon and the sun. Personally, I think Prishtina is darker than Manhattan, but it feels like home to me. Meanwhile in Manhattan, the culture is vibrant and colorful and it really helps me settle mentally. Therefore, I combine both the dark and the bright elements of these cultures and make a sound that is fitting yet universal.


Photo by Andi Deçani


Can you share a favorite moment that you’ve experienced while working on your new EP?


I really went in with the research on this EP. It is inspired by 80s ballroom culture and Club Kids in New York. I watched a lot of documentaries, movies, and TV Shows about the Ballroom culture and Club Kids and became OBSESSED with Richies Rich’s attitude. I think that would be my favorite moment because I discovered a culture that is unapologetic and vibrant.


How have you seen your music evolve?


My music has evolved so much through the years. I first started writing R&B, trap, and Neo-Soul songs, but after a while, my style really changed drastically. Now I’m more into funk-pop, alternative songs (of course including my signature Lui$a R&B flair in it). I am not afraid to experiment with my style and try out new things.



What have been some of the highlights of your journey so far?


I performed in VFILES Pass The Aux Remote Sessions on 5/21/20 with my song Gemstones. I got great feedback from Media Platforms and I’ve never been in a better mental state of mind than right now. I think mental health always comes first when it comes to being productive.


What direction do you want to take with your music in the future?


I would like to produce, write and compose songs for other artists, have my own concerts and influence the youth to produce and create, accept their flaws, and unleash their creativity through art.


Connect with LUI$A:


Comments


bottom of page